Welcome to the City of Underwood!

The City of Underwood operates under a commission form of government led by a president.   

  • Voters elect (at large) one president of the commission and four commissioners

  • The commission has both legislative and executive functions

  • Each commissioner is assigned one specific portfolio , such as police, public works, streets, buildings

The Underwood City Hall is located at 88 Lincoln Avenue.

Commission meetings are held at City Hall at 7:00 pm on the first and third Monday of every month, unless otherwise scheduled.  

Updated meeting times can be found on the Calendar. 



City of Underwood Commission

Leon Weisenburger, Jr., President
Portfolio:  Finance & City Bldg & Grounds

Jay Snyder, Vice-President
Portfolio:  Bldgs & Grounds

Patti Werre
Portfolio: Library & Police & Finance

Derrick Fischer
Portfolio:  Streets & Water & Library/Police

Zac Heskin
Portfolio:  Water & Streets

City of Underwood - Auditor

Diane Schell

701-442-5481        FAX:  701-442-5482        
 e-mail:  ctyunder@westriv.com

The Carl Bader Hall (gymnasium) and Council Room
located at City Hall are available for rental.
Contact the City Auditor for availability and rates.


City of Underwood Water/Sewer/Streets Superintendent

Neal Repnow

City of Underwood Lawyer

David Lindell

City of Underwood Engineer

Toman Engineering

Municipal Judge

Catherine Bailey

Building Permit Official

Glenn Earl


Underwood Planning and Zoning Board

Steven Heger
Earl Cottingham
Mindy Weist
Paul Cabrera
Chris Maxwell
City Commission Representative: Patti Werre

City of Underwood Renaissance Board

Ellen Berg
Talesa Heger
Mic Johnson
Glenn Earl
Diane Schell
Earl Cottingham
City Commission Representative: Patti Werre

Underwood Area Economic Development Board of Directors

Mic Johnson, President                                                                                                             Bob Larson, Vice President
Diane Schell, Treasurer
Talesa Heger, Secretary
Brandt Dick                                                                                                                                     Steve Werre



Underwood Public Library

Library (Librarian – Harmony Higbie)

Library Hours:

Monday 10:00 am – 2:00 pm
Tuesday 3:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am – 2:00 pm; 3:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Thursday 3:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

Underwood Public Library Board

Cynthia Bjorge
Christine McEwen
Chuck Finneman
Diane Malmedal
Amanda Haseleu



Underwood Park Board

Brenda Schantz, President
Brandon Sem
Zac Blotske
Alix Auck
Tyler Hotten


Underwood Recreation System Board

Marvin Hemphill, Chairman
Underwood Golf Association Representatives
     Marvin Hemphill
      Nancy Heger
      Jan Auck  
      Graydon Ash
      Justin Adolf
Underwood City Commission Representative
      Jay Snyder

Underwood Housing Authority  701-442-5481

Tony Jacobson
Dean Cottingham
Marvin Hemphill
Mic Johnson